gpollice

POSSE retrospective

In OpenSource on June 12, 2010 at 9:00 pm

Well the POSSE Worcester session is over. It was a good experience and I got to meet some very interesting people. We finished up yesterday with a discussion of some educational issues, both pedagogical and practical. I gave a short overview of my WPI Suite project. Although right now, this project requires membership to the SourceForge Enterprise installation at WPI to get to the source repository, you can go to the site and download the file releases to try it out. If you’re interested in getting the sources, send me a message and then apply for an account from the site and I can approve it. I’m hoping that by the end of the summer we’ll have it set up much better as an open source project.

Today I finished the code on the Measure Activity and pushed it to the posse-clone branch. If there are no other changes by Monday evening, I’ll get a merge request to Walter. Unfortunately, testing Measure in Sugar on Fedora (in VirtualBox) has been difficult. There are a lot of problems that show up that have nothing to do with the code we’re working with.

Anyway, there was a very simple way of implementing the timer task. It was using a simple Timer object from the Python library.  Once the user clicks the record button, the code now creates a Timer object that fires after the appropriate delay. When the Timer fires, it causes the sample to get logged and creates another Timer before exiting. This goes on until the user stops the sampling. When that happens the current Timer’s cancel() method is called. Simple and it works fine. I think we made some definite improvements to Measure. I don’t know if I’ll have much time to work on it this summer since I have to finish my software engineering textbook, get WPI Suite V2.0 out, and get ready for school next year.

Leave a Reply

